Dorothy Berkson Writing Award

Call for papers Award Reception InformationDorothy Berkson Literary Award Fund

This award recognizes written achievement (e.g., scholarly essays, research projects, creative non-fiction, fiction, poetry, or playwriting) focused on gender and authored by a senior. The award winners are traditionally honored at a reception that celebrates Professor Berkson’s contributions to Lewis & Clark College and the excellence of current students who study gender through scholarly analysis and  written expression.

Congratulations to 2022-23 winners Venus Edlin and Jillian Jackson! 

Venus Edlin ’23 (Rhetoric and Media Studies)
“Lil Nas X and Dolly Parton: Genre Subversion as Queer Practice” (essay)

Jillian Jackson ’23 (English)
“Can the Master’s Linguistics Dismantle the Master’s House?:
Zilia’s Subversive Bilingualism in Letters of a Peruvian Woman
” (essay)

Check out the Dorothy Berkson Archival Page to see past awardees, and the Dorothy Berkson Award library page with links to a selection of winning submissions.


Dorothy Berkson, professor emerita of English, taught at Lewis & Clark College from 1981 until her retirement in 2004. She died in April 2007. Professor Berkson was a presenter in Lewis & Clark’s first Gender Studies Symposium. For the gender studies minor, she designed a course titled Gender and Aesthetic Expression, which she continued to teach for many years.


Thank you to Dorothy Berkson’s family, friends, and colleagues, whose generous contributions have made this award possible.