Honors and Awards

Economics Department Student Awards

Departmental Honors

The department grants honors on graduation to economics majors who:

  • attain a cumulative GPA of 3.500 or higher
  • attain a GPA of 3.75 or higher in all economics courses
  • complete at least one 400-level elective chosen from the following:
    ECON 434 Mathematical Economics
    ECON 491 Advanced Macroeconomics
    ECON 492 Advanced Microeconomics


Departmental Honors in academic year 2020-2021: Dante Yasui and Jacob Serafini.

Departmental Honors in academic year 2019-2020: Austin Smith.

Departmental Honors in academic year 2018-2019: Robert Lee Reaser and Ravyn Alysha Malatesta.

Winner of the World Philosopher Award in academic year 2017-2018 is Nicholas Krieg.

The Worldly Philosopher Award

The Worldly Philosopher Award is given annually by the economics department to the economics major who, in the opinion of the department faculty, has made the greatest overall academic and service contributions to the department.