Faculty and Staff

The ENVS Program has three dedicated faculty appointments: Jim Proctor, a geographer; Liz Safran, a geologist and disasters researcher and Program Director; and Jessica Kleiss, an oceanographer and climate scientist. ENVS also involves a range of participating faculty specializing in biology, chemistry, economics, history, international affairs, philosophy, sociology, and other fields.

Contributing Faculty

Jessica Kleiss

Associate Professor of Environmental Studies and Director of Environmental Studies Program
Olin Center
Office Hours:

Office hour calendar

James D. Proctor

Professor of Environmental Studies
J.R. Howard Hall
Office Hours:

Office hour calendar

Alana Rader

Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies

Elizabeth Safran

Associate Professor of Geological Science and Director of Earth System Science Minor
Olin Center
Office Hours:

Office hour calendar

Barbara Balko

Associate Professor and Chair of Chemistry
Olin 225
Elizabeth Bennett Headshot

Elizabeth A. Bennett

Sustainability, economic global governance, international business and public policy, global supply chains, business and human rights, fair trade, voluntary sustainability certifications, social entrepreneurship, labor/social/environmental justice, international political economy
Howard Hall

Andrew Bernstein

Professor of History
Japanese history, Environmental History
Miller Center
Office Hours:

Spring 2024: Tuesdays 9:00-10:30, Thursdays 9:00-10:30 and 3:30-4:20. 

Greta Binfod

Greta Binford

Professor of biology
Pamplin Installation portrait

Moriah B. Bostian

Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr. Professor of Economics and Chair of Economics
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Econometrics, Productivity Analysis
J.R. Howard Hall

Maryann Bylander

Associate Professor of Sociology
Migration, Development, Debt/Indebtedness, Microfinance
JR Howard
Office Hours:

Overseas SP24

Julio de Paula

Professor of Chemistry and Department Chair of BCMB
Olin Center

Brian Detweiler-Bedell

Professor of Psychology

Kurt Fosso

Professor of English

Susan Glosser

Associate Professor of History
China, Asian American History, Food History
Miller Center
Office Hours:

Spring 2024: Tuesdays 4:00-5:15 and Thursdays 4:00-5:00, and by appointment. 

Kabir is smiling at the camera with his arms crossed in a black and white photo

Kabir Mansingh Heimsath

Assistant Professor with Term of Anthropology, Director of Asian Studies
Tibet and Himalayan studies; space/place and visual theory; borderlands; experiential learning
JR Howard
Office Hours:

Mon/Wed 2-3pm drop in (email for appointment at other times)

Reiko Hillyer

Assistant Professor of History
Miller Center
Rob Kugler

Robert Kugler

Paul S. Wright Professor of Christian Studies
Jewish and Christian origins, Dead Sea Scrolls, early Jewish literature, papyrology, Jews in Hellenistic Egypt
John R. Howard Hall
Office Hours:

On sabbatical Spring 2024

Bob Mandel

Professor of International Affairs, Chair of International Affairs, and Marc Messina Chair
Global Security and Strategic Studies, Conflict and Warfare, Global Resource Issues, and Psychological Aspects of International Relations
Howard Hall
Margaret Metz

Margaret Metz

Associate professor of biology

Susanna Morrill

Associate Professor of Religious Studies
John R. Howard Hall
Office Hours:

Tuesday 9 - 11:30 am 

Portrait of Jay Odenbaugh by Nina Johnson

Jay Odenbaugh

James F. Miller Professor of Humanities
Philosophy of biology, environmental philosophy, philosophy of psychology
John R. Howard Hall
profile pic for Bruce

Bruce Podobnik

Associate Professor of Sociology
JR Howard
Office Hours:

Mondays and Thursdays 3-4pm; Students should sign up on my online calendar, which can be found by running an internet search on Bruce Podobnik homepage.

Karen Russell

Karen Russell

Adjunct Legal Faculty
Ellen Seljan

Ellen Seljan

Professor of Political Science
John R. Howard Hall
Office Hours:

Monday and Wednesday 11:30AM - 01:00PM, Tuesdays and Thursdays Alternate Check Google Calendar or by appointment

Janice Weiss

Janice Weis

Associate Dean and Director, Environmental, Natural Resources and Energy Law Program


Laura Mundt

Laura Mundt

Administrative Specialist