Endowed Professorships

Endowed professorships strengthen our ability to retain and recruit exemplary faculty who combine thought-provoking teaching with innovative research.

Endowed professorships honor distinguished individuals, celebrate collective intellectual rigor, stimulate learning between scholars and students, and advance interdisciplinary teaching and research.

When you support an existing professorship, contribute to one not yet fully endowed, or work with us to establish a new endowed professorship, you become a vital partner in securing the very best education for our students.

To learn more about endowing a professorship, please contact a senior development officer at 503-768-7939 or 800-753-9292.

Endowed Professorships

U.G. Dubach Professorship in Political Science, established in 1966 to honor Ulysses Grant Dubach, professor and chair of political science (1947”“1958). 

James F. Miller Professorship in the Humanities, established in 1999 by James F. Miller, who was a member of the Board of Trustees, a life trustee, and generous benefactor. Held by Nicholas D. Smith, professor of philosophy

Morgan S. Odell Professorship in the Humanities, established in 1990 by friends and alumni to honor Morgan Odell, the first president of Lewis & Clark College (1942 to 1960). Held by Mary C. Szybist, professor of English

The Pamplin Professorships, established in 1993 as part of the Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr. Society of Fellows. Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr. ”˜64, ”˜65, ”˜66, now a life trustee of Lewis & Clark, chaired the Board of Trustees from 1991 to 1996. The four professorships focus on areas of study central to the understanding and exercise of contemporary international leadership.

Economics: Held by Arthur O’Sullivan, professor of economics
Government: Held by Todd Lochner, associate professor of government
History: Held by David Campion, associate professor of history
Science: Held by Janis E. Lochner, professor of chemistry

James W. Rogers Professorship in Music, established in 1995 by the Mary Stuart Rogers Foundation in honor of the late James W. Rogers ”˜64, a member of the College Choir and a lifelong supporter of the music program. Held by Eleonora M. Beck, professor of music

William Swindells Sr. Professorship in the Natural Sciences, established by friends and family in 1990. William Swindells was a member of the Board of Trustees (1958 to 1981) and a life trustee (1981 to 1985). Held by Paulette F. Bierzychudek, professor of biology

Paul S. Wright Professorship in Christian Studies, established in 1998 by Paul and Marie Wright and friends of Lewis & Clark. Paul S. Wright served as theologian-in-residence for Lewis & Clark until his death at the age of 99. Held by Robert A. Kugler, professor of religious studies