School navigation

Alumni & Parent Programs

Honors Banquet

Please join us for this special event to honor and celebrate outstanding members of the Lewis & Clark community.

Friday, February 19, 2016, 6:30 p.m.
Stamm Dining Room, Templeton Campus Center
Reception followed by dinner and awards program

Event cost: $46 - regular ticket; $24 - recent graduates (2011 or after), faculty and emeriti, staff, students. Event cost includes reception, dinner, awards program, and open bar for the night.

**Registration for Honors Banquet has now closed.  If you are interested in registering, please call the Alumni and Parent programs office at 503-768-7950 to check availability.**

Meet the Awardees

Samantha Robison, B.A. ’08
Outstanding Young Alumna Award
Samantha is the Founder and Executive Director of Awareness and Prevention through Art (aptART), an organization of artists and activists dedicated to sharing artistic experiences with conflict affected and marginalized youth throughout the world. Working alongside local and international organizations, aptART coordinates workshops for youth that result in large-scale public art. AptART has worked with youth in Syria, Iraq, Palestine, Jordan, Turkey, DR Congo, Mozambique and Europe.

Chuck Charnquist, B.S. ’58
Donald G. Balmer Citation
For over fifty-seven years, Chuck has been a tireless Lewis & Clark College advocate. After graduation he spent several years as a journalist before returning to his alma mater as the public information director - a role he ably served for 19 years. Since 2008, he has been active with the Albany Society, which has as its members alumni who graduated fifty or more years ago. After contributing as a Board member for several years, Chuck served as chair in 2011. He also launched and is editor for The Gatehouse, a newsletter that helps connect senior alumni with each other and the college.

Toshinobu Toyama, B.A. ’97
Pioneer Alumni Leadership Award
For sixteen years, Toshinobu served as a dedicated volunteer with the L&C Japan Alumni Chapter. He organized events to build community with Japanese alumni, provided hospitality for L&C presidents, deans, college faculty and staff, and helped numerous students and alumni connect with other alumni with a focus on career development. Always dependable, Toshinobu’s attention to detail and enthusiasm for his alma mater were unflagging, ensuring events in Tokyo were always successful. Toshinobu’s involvement with the L&C’s alumni chapter in Japan led him to pursue a career in higher education, working at Waseda University in the International Education and Planning office.

WATSONVILLE CA - 7NOVEMBER10 - Bob Fitch is a documentary photographer whose photographs of the Civil Rights Movement are nationally famous.Copyright David BaconBob Fitch, B.S. ’61
Distinguished Alumnus Award
Bob Fitch has been documenting peace and justice work for close to a half century. From his first volunteer assignment for the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) in Alabama in 1965, through documenting Luis Alejo’s 2010-11 campaign for a seat in the California State Assembly, Fitch’s photographs are about the people who make up the movements for change. Over the course of his remarkable career, he portrayed for the world the work of Martin Luther King, Jr., Dorothy Day and the Catholic Worker Houses of Hospitality, the first congressional campaign of Congressman Ron Dellums, Fathers Dan and Phillip Berrigan, and the draft resistance work of David Harris and Joan Baez. For seven years, Bob documented the organizing efforts of Cesar Chavez and United Farm Workers Union. *Unfortunately Bob will not be able to attend the banquet on February 19th. However, his son, Jaxon, will attend and accept the award on his father’s behalf.
photo copyright - David Bacon


Call for Nominations

Do you know of someone who is deserving of an award? Please take a moment to complete a nomination form. Nominations for the next round of awards are due April 1, 2016. Award winners will be announced in July and honored at the Alumni Honors Banquet in February 2017. 

Read detailed bios of past award recipients here.