School navigation

Inclusion and Multicultural Engagement

Hispanic Heritage Month

National Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15-October 15) recognizes the contributions of Hispanic and Latino Americans to the United States and celebrates the Hispanic and Latino American heritage and culture. September 15 was chosen as the starting point for the celebration because it is the anniversary of independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. These five countries all declared independence on September 15, 1821. In addition, Mexico, Chile, and Belize celebrate their independence days on September 16, September 18, and September 21, respectively. Join Lewis & Clark as we celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month with the following events:

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Hispanic? Latino? Chicano? What’s the Difference?

Thayer l 6:30-8:00 PM

Hispanic? Latino? Chicano?  What’s the difference among these terms?  Which one(s) do you use and why? Which one(s) have been used to describe you? Join community activist Sean Aaron Cruz for an engaging discussion and history of each of these terms. Snacks and drinks will be provided.  Free and open to everyone!

Sean Aaron Cruz is a writer, editor and activist of Chicano and Irish descent. Sean was born and grew up in Northern California, which was part of Mexico before the US invasion of 1846, and experienced anti-Mexican bigotry in many forms from an early age. He became an anti-Vietnam War activist and joined the Chicano Movement in the late 60s and early 70s, and has been an advocate for improvements in living and working conditions for farm workers since he was a teenager. He experienced severe culture shock when he moved to the Portland Metro Area in 1988, finding that few Oregonians knew anything at all about Chicano, Mexican or Mesoamerican indigenous cultures. 

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Remedios: Healing in the Latino Community

South Chapel (Graduate Campus) l 7:00-9:00 PM

Please join us for a talk and presentation followed by a question and answer session with award-winning artist and healer Eva Castellanoz of Nyssa, Oregon. She will discuss her work as a curandera, a Mexican traditional healer, her use of herbs and rituals, and how traditional health care can co-exist with western medical and mental health models. She’ll also share stories from her life and her path to becoming a healer.  

Castellanoz has received a National Heritage Award for her traditional coronas, wax and paper crowns used in weddings and quinceañera ceremonies. She served on the Oregon Arts Commission and has been widely recognized for her community work using Mexican arts with at-risk youth and for providing healing to people from many different backgrounds. 


Monday, October 6, 2014

Film: Gun Hill Road

UGS Lounge (Templeton 235A) l 7:00 PM

United Genders and Sexualities presents a movie night in their lounge: Gun Hill Road is the story of a family in transition. It is the story of a young man exploring his sexuality in an intolerant and judgmental world and his exploration’s impact on his relationship with his parents and himself. After three years in prison, Enrique (Esai Morales) returns home to the Bronx to find the world he knew has changed. His wife, Angela (Judy Reyes), struggles to hide an emotional affair, and his teenage son, Michael (Harmony Santana), explores a sexual transformation well beyond Enrique’s grasp and understanding. Unable to accept his child, Enrique clings to his masculine ideals while Angela attempts to hold the family together by protecting Michael. Still under the watchful eye of his parole officer (Isiah Whitlock, Jr.), Enrique must become the father he needs to be or, once again, risk losing his family and freedom. Can a fathers fierce love for his family overcome his street-hardened ideas about manhood and end the vicious cycle controlling his life?

A film by writer/director Rashaad Ernesto Green, Gun Hill Road was a finalist for the esteemed Jury Award at the 2011 Sundance Film Festival and played at festivals globally in Spring 2011.