School navigation

Academic Awards and Fellowships (AAF)

LeRoy Apker Award

The LeRoy Apker Award recognizes outstanding achievements in physics by undergraduate students, and provides encouragement to young physicists who have demonstrated great potential for future scientific accomplishment. Two awards are presented each year, one to a student from a PhD granting institution, and one to a student from a non-PhD granting institution. The award consists of $5,000 for the recipient, $5,000 for their undergraduate institution’s physics department to support undergraduate research, a certificate, and reimbursement for travel to an APS meeting to give an invited talk. “Six finalists are selected to present their research for the Apker Award Selection Committee. The 2016 Apker Award Selection Meeting will be held on August 22 in Washington, D.C. Each of the finalists will receive an honorarium of $2,000, $1,000 for their undergraduate institution’s physics department to support undergraduate research, reimbursement for travel to the selection meeting, and a certificate.

Campus Contact and Application Process

Must be nominated by the Physics Department


Typical Deadline



Nominations are open to students at colleges and universities in the United States who were enrolled as undergraduates during at least part of the 12-month period preceding the submittal deadline. Only one graduate may be nominated per department. The candidate should have completed or be completing the requirements for an undergraduate degree with an excellent academic record and should have demonstrated exceptional potential for scientific research by an original contribution to physics. Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.

Award Website

Share this profile on

Academic Awards and Fellowships (AAF)

Contact Us