May 09, 2023

Trisha Sharma: 2023 Diehl Fellow Joining the Center for Biological Diversity

Trisha Sharma (’24) was selected as one of two 2023 Lewis & Clark Diehl Fellows.

Trisha developed an enthusiasm for environmental and conservation through a lifelong love for animals and a sense of urgency to protect the ecosystems that both animals and humans need to thrive. Allowing these interests to guide her in her undergraduate studies at the University of Minnesota, she chose to study Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology with the hopes of eventually becoming an environmental advocate. Prior to starting law school, she served for 11 months as an Americorps member with The Food Group in Minnesota, where she supported beginning farmers in their efforts to start their own sustainable vegetable farming businesses. Her time in Americorps helped solidify her goals of pursuing environmental advocacy and working towards a future where human activity protects rather than degrades the environment and our natural resources.

During law school she feels extremely lucky to have been able to better understand what environmental legal work entails by working as a summer law clerk for the Center for Food Safety and Midwest Environmental Advocates, as well as by volunteering with NEDC. She was also a member of Lewis and Clark’s Environmental Law Review where she contributed to publication of the journal as a Source Checker and Associate Editor. Each of these opportunities gave her practical experience in the field of environmental law, and connected her with supportive mentors.

Thanks to the Diehl Fellowship, Trisha gets to join the Center for Biological Diversity, primarily doing endangered species work. She is eager to use her background in conservation biology alongside her legal education to contribute to the critical work that the Center does. Trisha is so grateful that the Diehl Fellowship is making it possible for her to work in her chosen field so soon after law school.

Karli Uwaine (’24) has been selected as the other Diehl Fellow for 2023.