May 03, 2022

Longtime Physics Professor Named Teacher of the Year

Michael Broide, associate professor of physics, is the 2022 Teacher of the Year. The award caps off a 30-year career of instilling a love of physics in L&C students. 

Lewis & Clark’s Pamplin Society of Fellows has named Associate Professor of Physics Michael Broide the 2022 Teacher of the Year. Each year, the award aims to honor an undergraduate faculty member who goes above and beyond the duties of their position to enrich student learning.

Broide, who joined Lewis & Clark in 1991, holds a PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and an MS and BS from the University of California at Los Angeles. His scholarly interests include complex fluids, the aggregation of colloids, and phase transitions in protein solutions.

Broide is renowned for his work in the classroom, and has won the Teacher of the Year award twice, first in 2004 and again this year. In addition, he has served 15 consecutive years as chair of the physics department and has twice led the college’s overseas study program to Siena, Italy.

One student nominator wrote, “I think Broide has played an essential role in terms of opening up the physics department to a wider audience of students. His teaching has drawn in students from many disciplines across campus … He is constantly making small gestures of compassion, whether by bringing treats to the student lounge or by finding strange little physics toys in the shop to let students figure out. His enthusiasm about physics is infectious, both inside and outside the classroom.”

This year’s award takes on added significance since Broide will be retiring at the close of the spring semester. Says Bruce Suttmeier, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, “We will miss how he embodies—in his enthusiasm and his skill—the sheer love of teaching students, whether about the physical properties of the universe or about how to navigate life with curiosity, passion, and humor.”

In addition to Broide, this year’s finalists included:

The process for naming the Teacher of the Year is entirely student driven, from nomination through selection. The first award was made in 1994.

Physics Pamplin Society of Fellows