School navigation

Academic Awards and Fellowships (AAF)

Critical Language Scholarships for Intensive Summer Institutes

September 05, 2020

The US Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs sponsors the Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program in order to offer intensive summer programs in critical languages.These summer programs last seven to ten weeks and are fully funded by the CLS program. Programs are available at the beginning, intermediate, and advanced level (beginning level language instruction is not offered for every language). There is no government service requirement, although students are expected to continue their language study after completing of the program.

Languages include:

  • Azerbaijani, Bangla/Bengali, Hindi, Indonesian, Korean, Punjabi, Turkish, and Urdu: Beginning, advanced beginning, intermediate and advanced levels;
  • Arabic and Persian: Advanced beginning, intermediate and advanced levels;
  • Chinese, Japanese, and Russian: Intermediate and advanced levels.

Eligibility: Applicants must be US citizens who are currently enrolled in a US degree-granting institution at the undergraduate or graduate level. Students of diverse disciplines and majors are encouraged to apply.  While there is no service requirement attached to CLS Program awards, participants are expected to continue their language study beyond the scholarship period, and later apply their critical language skills in their future professional careers.

Deadline: November 17, 2020.

Faculty Representative: Maria Hristova, Department of World Languages and Literatures

Share this story on

Academic Awards and Fellowships (AAF)

Contact Us