School navigation

Academic Awards and Fellowships (AAF)

NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

December 03, 2012

The National Science Foundations provides support for three years of graduate study in mathematics, sciences, or engineering leading to a PhD (not MD). NSF awards 1000 fellowships annually, with additional awards available for women in engineering, computer science, or information science.

Fellows share in the prestige and opportunities that become available when they are selected.  Fellows benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $30,000 along with a $12,00 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees, opportunities for international research and professional development, and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited U.S. institution of graduate education they choose.

Eligibility: Seniors, recent graduates, and first year graduate students.

Selection Process: Students submit a two part application in the fellowships, grants, and awards. Some are specific to a discipline, career, or graduate institution. While most fall. Each application is reviewed by a discipline-appropriate panel convened for NSF by the Oak Ridge Associated Universities. Awards are announced in the spring.

Deadline: Deadlines vary by subject but are typically in late October. 

Share this story on

Academic Awards and Fellowships (AAF)

Contact Us