School navigation


The Alexander String Quartet

Date: 7:30pm PST February 13 Location: Agnes Flanagan Chapel


Agnes Flanagan Chapel

The Alexander String Quartet was formed in New York City in 1981. The quartet has performed in the major music capitals on five continents, securing its standing among the world’s premiere ensembles. Widely admired for its interpretations of Beethoven, Mozart, and Shostakovich, the group has also established itself as an important advocate of new music. The Alexander String Quartet is a major artistic presence in its home base of San Francisco, serving since 1989 as ensemble in residence for San Francisco Performances.

The Quartet (Zakarias Grafilo, violin; Frederick Lifsitz, violin; Paul Yarbrough, viola; Sandy Wilson, cello) will perform:

  • W.A. Mozart’s String Quartet in C major, K. 465 “Dissonant”
  • Dmitri Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 12, Op. 133
  • Beethoven’s String Quartet in C major, Op. 59, No. 3 “Razumovsky”

Tickets are available for this event here:

Event Contact
(503) 768-7140