School navigation

Mathematical Sciences

Puzzle of the Week

Each week, a new mathematics puzzle will be emailed to all math and CS students, plus posted in the department hallway. Solutions are due on Wednesdays at 5pm.

Solutions should emailed to Iva Stavrov at istavrov@lclark.edu,  or left in the box outside of her office, Bodine 305.

The Honor Roll list of successful students will be posted in the Math Dept. At the end of the term, the students who solve any of the puzzles will win prizes! The more you solve, the more you win.

Spring 2017

1.  First Puzzle        Solution      Due Wednesday, January 25 at 5:00pm
2.  Second Puzzle   Solution      Due Wednesday, February 1 at 5:00pm
3.  Third Puzzle       Solution      Due Wednesday, February 8 at 5:00pm
4.  Fourth Puzzle     Solution      Due Wednesday, February 15 at 5:00pm
5.  Fifth Puzzle         Solution      Due Wednesday, February 22 at 5:00pm
6.  Sixth Puzzle        Solution      Due Wednesday, March 1  at 5:00pm
7.  Seventh Puzzle   Solution      Due Wednesday, March 8  at 5:00pm
8.   Eighth Puzzle     Solution           Due Wednesday, March 15  at 5:00pm
9.   Ninth Puzzle       Solution       Due Wednesday, March 22  at 5:00pm
10. Tenth Puzzle       Solution     Due Wednesday, April 12  at 5:00pm
11. Eleventh Puzzle          Due Wednesday, April 19 at 5:00pm

Winners for Spring 2017

 

Fall 2016

1.    First Puzzle      Solution    Due Tuesday, September 6 at 5:00pm
2.    Second Puzzle  Solution   Due Tuesday, September 13 at 5:00pm
3.    Third Puzzle      Solution    Due Tuesday, September 20 at 5:00pm
4.    Fourth Puzzle    Solution    Due Tuesday, September 27 at 5:00pm
5.    Fifth Puzzle       Solution    Due Tuesday, October 4 at 5:00pm
6.     Sixth Puzzle     Solution    Due Tuesday, October 11 at 5:00pm
7.    Seventh Puzzle    Solution     Due Tuesday, October 18 at 5:00pm
8.     Eighth Puzzle    Solution    Due Tuesday, October 25 at 5:00pm
9.      Ninth Puzzle    Solution      Due Tuesday, November 1 at 5:00pm
10.   Tenth Puzzle     Solution      Due Tuesday, November 8 at 5:00pm
11.   Eleventh Puzzle    Solution   Due Tuesday, November 15 at 5:00pm
12.   Twelfth Puzzle    Solution     Due Tuesday, November 22 at 5:00pm
13.  Thirteenth Puzzle  Solution   Due Tuesday, November 29 at 5:00pm
14.  Fourteenth Puzzle                 Due Tuesday, December 6 at 5:00pm

 Winners for Fall 2016!!

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Spring 2016

1.    First Puzzle          Due Tuesday, January 26 at 5:00pm
          1s. Solution to First Puzzle
2.    Second Puzzle     Due Tuesday, February 2 at 5:00pm
          2s. Solution to Second Puzzle
3.    Third Puzzle         Due Tuesday, February 9 at 5:00pm
          3s. Solution to Third Puzzle
4.   Fourth Puzzle       Due Tuesday, February 16 at 5:00pm
          4s. Solution to Fourth Puzzle
5.   Fifth Puzzle          Due Tuesday, February 23 at 5:00pm
          5s. Solution to Fifth Puzzle
6. Sixth Puzzle       Due Tuesday, March 1 at 5:00pm
          6s. Solution to Sixth Puzzle
7. Seventh Puzzle       Due Tuesday, March 8 at 5:00pm
          7s. Solution to Seventh Puzzle
8. Eighth Puzzle     Due Tuesday, March 15 at 5:00pm
          8s. Solution to Eighth Puzzle
9. Ninth Puzzle  Due Tuesday, March 29 at 5:00pm
         9s. Solution to Ninth Puzzle
10. Tenth Puzzle Due Tuesday, April 5 at 5:00pm
         10s. Solution to Tenth Puzzle
11. Eleventh Puzzle Due Tuesday, April 12 at 5:00pm
         11s. Solution to Eleventh Puzzle
12. Twelfth Puzzle Due Tuesday, April 19 at 5:00pm
         12s. Solution to Twelfth Puzzle
13.Thirteenth Puzzle Due Tuesday, April 26 at 5:00pm
         13s. Solution to Thirteenth Puzzle

 Winners!!