School navigation

Mathematical Sciences

Puzzle of the Week

This year we will sponsor a GRE puzzle of the week contest.
These puzzles will help you prepare to take the Graduate Record Exam or just provide a challenging problem for you to ponder.

Puzzles are posted each week, on the post outside of Paul T. Allen’s office, Bodine 306.

There is a box of prizes for those deemed worthy by Paul.

Spring 2018

1.  First Puzzle                Due Monday, January 29 at 5:00pm
2.  Second Puzzle            Due Monday, February 5 at 5:00pm
3.  Third Puzzle                Due Monday, February 12 at 5:00pm
4.  Fourth Puzzle              Due Monday, February 19 at 5:00pm
5.  Fifth Puzzle                  Due Monday, February 26 at 5:00pm
6.  Sixth Puzzle                 Due Monday, March 5 at 5:00pm
7.  Seventh Puzzle           Due Monday, March 12 at 5:00pm
8.  Eighth Puzzle               Due Monday, March 19 at 5:00pm
9.  Ninth Puzzle                 Due Monday, April 2 at 5:00pm
10.  Tenth Puzzle               Due Monday, April 9 at 5:00pm
11. Eleventh Puzzle          Due Monday, April 16 at 5:00pm
12. Twelfth Puzzle             Due Monday, April 23 at 5:00pm

Winners for Fall 2018!

 

Spring 2017

1.  First Puzzle        Solution      Due Wednesday, January 25 at 5:00pm
2.  Second Puzzle   Solution      Due Wednesday, February 1 at 5:00pm
3.  Third Puzzle       Solution      Due Wednesday, February 8 at 5:00pm
4.  Fourth Puzzle     Solution      Due Wednesday, February 15 at 5:00pm
5.  Fifth Puzzle         Solution      Due Wednesday, February 22 at 5:00pm
6.  Sixth Puzzle        Solution      Due Wednesday, March 1  at 5:00pm
7.  Seventh Puzzle Solution      Due Wednesday, March 8  at 5:00pm
8.   Eighth Puzzle     Solution           Due Wednesday, March 15  at 5:00pm
9.   Ninth Puzzle       Solution       Due Wednesday, March 22  at 5:00pm
10. Tenth Puzzle       Solution     Due Wednesday, April 12  at 5:00pm
11. Eleventh Puzzle          Due Wednesday, April 19 at 5:00pm

Winners for Spring 2017