David Martinsen Prize

    Dave Martinsen Dave Martinsen

David Martinsen was a beloved teacher and colleague in the Biology department from 1974 until his death in 2000. We remember Dave for his warmth with students and his love of intellectual exploration of all kinds, including teaching in the gender studies program here at Lewis & Clark. An avid fisherman, Dave was passionate about the pristine NW environment and committed to efforts to preserve it. Dave was a generous man who had little tolerance for artifice and pretense. Each year we award this prize in Dave’s memory to the senior who best exemplifies these qualities. Included with the award is a copy of one of Dave’s favorite books: A River Runs Through It by Norman Maclean.


2022: Sophia Green

2021: Makayla Simmer

2020: Lauren Walker

2019: Samantha Zimmerman

2018: Cecilia Bueno

2017 Grace Shaw

2016 Sofia Koutzoukis

2015: Lily Clarke

2014: Dale Forrister

2013: Julia Cosgrove

2012: Trevor Bloom

2011: Katherine Fiedler & Andrew Wood

2010: Danielle Fagre

2009: Naomi Keiper

2008: Gabe Nagler

2007: Andrew Merrell & Jenny Phillips

2006: Kelly Atkins

2005: Jonny Armstrong & Sara Baguskas

2004: Clara Elias

2003: Gwenn Kubeck

2002: Eric Bend

2001: Ben Muir