School navigation

Dean of the College

David Savage Award

Purpose of the Award

The David Savage Award will be given to a deserving faculty member whose vision and sustained service to the College have advanced the general academic and intellectual welfare of our community of teacher-scholars. The work of this faculty member should reflect the selfless ethic demonstrated over the years by Dr. David Savage, who provided a model of inspirational leadership, tireless support, and genuine respect for his colleagues.


Current tenured faculty members and senior lecturers in Lewis & Clark’s College of Arts & Sciences who are not previous recipients are eligible to receive the David Savage Award.

Nomination process

Members of the faculty of the College of Arts & Sciences may respond to a yearly call for nominations from the Dean of the College by forwarding the names of eligible members of the faculty for the David Savage Award.  A nominating letter should state clearly and concisely how the nominee has advanced the general academic and intellectual welfare of our community of teacher-scholars.

Evaluation of nominations

The Faculty Council will review nominations and recommend an award to the Dean of the College.  A result of the review of nominations may be a recommendation against making an award in a given year.


The David Savage Award carries a one-time stipend of $1,000 and a plaque.


Past recipients of the David Savage Award:

2007 - Dinah Dodds

2008 - Gary Reiness

2009 - Stuart Kaplan

2010 - Nicole Aas-Rouxparis

2011 - Paulette Bierzychudek

2012 - John Krussel

2013 - Janet Davidson

2014 - Rob Kugler

2015 - Jane Hunter

2016 - Deborah Heath

2017 - Janis Lochner

2018 - Stephen Weeks

Dean of the College

Contact Us