School navigation

Pamplin Society of Fellows

Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr. founded his Society of Fellows at Lewis & Clark College on June 4, 1993. The undergraduate honor society aims to create new generations of leaders by singling out and bringing together educators and students of the highest caliber in a lifelong association that begins with study at the College.

Membership is extended to seven second-year students annually; it is the highest honor bestowed by the College on its students. Four endowed professors, one each from the disciplines of History, Science, Government and Economics, also serve as members of the Society. The student fellows determine, plan and implement a number of programs each year, including hosting a Distinguished Visiting Scholar and bestowing a Teacher of the Year Award.

  • Becoming a finalist for the Rhodes and Marshall scholarship requires outstanding academic prowess and character. Katie Kowal BA ’17 interviewed for both scholarships following an endorsement from the college and much support from faculty who believed Kowal was a perfect candidate for these distinguished awards.
  • Talia Lichtenberg BA ’20 is the recipient of a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, the preeminent award for undergraduates in the sciences, engineering, and mathematics. A native of West Linn, Oregon, Talia is majoring in biochemistry and molecular biology with the intent of pursuing a PhD in molecular biology, specializing in Alzheimer’s disease and related neurodegenerative diseases.
  • Associate Professor of English Karen Gross is the 2019 Teacher of the Year
  • Eve Lowenstein B.A. '17

    Eve Lowenstein B.A. ’17 is one of just 252 scholars selected from a field of 1,150 students nominated by 415 institutions nationwide. Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships are widely considered the preeminent awards for undergraduates preparing for science careers. Irene Duba B.A. ’17 garnered an honorable mention. 

  • At a ceremony attended by faculty, staff, students, and friends, Elizabeth Bennett, assistant professor of international affairs, was named 2018 Teacher of the Year, a distinction based solely on student nominations by Lewis & Clark’s Pamplin Society of Fellows.
  • On April 19, students named Liz Safran, associate professor of geological science and director of environmental studies, Lewis & Clark teacher of the year.
  • This past June, a group of German and American students put on the first Alternative Career Night, aimed at helping fellow students navigate the often-daunting path of choosing a suitable career. Organizers expected turnout for the Thursday night event at the University of Munich to be moderate—college students in Germany, much like those in the United States, enjoy spending their free time outside of the lecture hall. The event’s success, however, went above and beyond expectations.
  • Julian Harris '16, Kenzie Batali '15, Assistant Professor of Chemistry Casey Jones

    Kenzie Batali ’15 and Julian Harris ’16 spent the summer working with Assistant Professor of Chemistry Casey Jones to find a potential treatment in red wine for coronary heart disease. They reflect on this experience in the following Q&A.

  • Holly Thomson '16 and Sarah Lowenstein '15
    Sarah Lowenstein ’15 and Holly Thomson ’16 have been working with Pamplin Professor of Science Janis Lochner to study the science behind memory formation.


Pamplin Society of Fellows

Contact Us